Ship of Fools I

The next few prints are Latin translations of Sebastian’s Brandt’s 15th century satire, “The Ship of Fools,” originally published in German. It was, apparently, Albrecht Durer’s first commisioned work! It looks like these are selections from the (much abridged) Latin translation by Jacob Locher Philomus.

74.12.1

XV
De antiquis fatuis. Ad patulum q(uam)vis langue(n)s declino sepulchru(m).
Triverit & meta(m) iam mea vita datam.
Non tamen antiquos fatuorum defero mores.
Stulti(t)i(a)eq(ue) vias inueteratus amo.

Inveterata fatuitas.
Inveterate dieru(m) malorum nu(n)c vener(un)t peccata tua quae operabaris prius . A senioribus egressa est iniquitas . puer centum annorum morietur . & peccator centum annorum maledictus erit. Stultitia est qu(ae) me non sinit esse senem.
Daniel. xiii

Inveterata me(a)e dementia crassa senect(a)e :
Non solitos linquit mores : vitam ve priorem :
Sum puer . & centum transacti temporis annos
Connumerare queo. nec eni sapientior usq(uam)

Ouidi. In fas. p(ro)ver(bia). xxii

15
Concerning old fools.
However much wearying, I turn away toward the open grave.
My life has now wasted also the goal it was given.
I do not, however, drive away the old habits of fools.
But having grown old, I love the ways
of foolishness.

Folly having grown old.
You who have grown old in wicked days, your transgressions have now come which you worked earlier. The iniquity came forth from the older (men). The child will die after one hundred years. And the sinner of one-hundred years will be accursed. This is foolishness which does not permit me to be an old man.
Daniel 13

The long-standing madness of my extreme old age is dense :
it does not forsake accustomed habits : or my earlier life :
I am the boy. And one-hundred years of transacted time
I am able to number and not however be wiser in any way.

Ouidi. In faf. proverbs 22

The passage cited as Daniel 13 quotes Daniel 13:52 (“You who have grown old in wicked days, your transgressions have now come which you worked earlier.”) but also Isaiah 65:20 (“The child will die after one hundred years. And the sinner of one-hundred years will be accursed.”)

I don’t know what Ouidi. In fas. refers to. My guess is that it’s a reference to a book in the bible and it’s abbreviated, but I can’t figure out how to expand it.

This entry was posted in McMaster Museum of Art and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

